18 High School Branch Students Awarded Two-Year Scholarships from VyStar Credit Union and the Florida Prepaid College Foundation

VyStar Credit Union in Jacksonville, Florida, is thrilled to announce that 18 outstanding students from the High School Branch Program will be awarded two-year Florida Prepaid College Plan scholarships in partnership with the Florida Prepaid College Foundation (FPCF).

FPCF matched VyStar Credit Union’s contribution toward these scholarships’ dollar-for-dollar, doubling the impact. Each scholarship covers 60 credit hours at a Florida public college, or the equivalent funding at another qualified educational institution.

“These scholarships represent our unwavering commitment to empowering young minds and investing in the future of our communities,” said VyStar Credit Union President and CEO Brian Wolfburg. “As we celebrate their achievements, we are proud to support their educational journeys and look forward to witnessing the impact they will undoubtedly make as future leaders.”

Students enrolled in a VyStar Credit Union Academy of Business High School Branch Program in eight school districts were eligible to apply. The program was established in 2006 and has provided 2,004 paid internship opportunities and delivered financial education training to more than 130,000 students.

“We are proud to partner with VyStar to offer 2-year college scholarships to these deserving students,” said Florida Prepaid College Foundation Director Cynthia O’Connell. “VyStar has demonstrated a strong commitment to promoting financial education and literacy, supporting the future workforce in Florida.”

The winners were selected from a pool of 56 exceptional candidates. These students have demonstrated not only academic excellence but also remarkable leadership, dedication, and promise. Grading criteria included categories such as GPA, short essay, work experience, extracurricular activities/community service and more. One student was selected from each High School Program.

VyStar High School Branch Scholarship Recipients

  1. Bartram Trail High School – Maria Rita Mankin
  2. Bradford High School – Teagan Bradley
  3. Belleview High School – Amy Fuentes Rodriguez
  4. Clay High School – Drew Boree
  5. Fernandina Beach High School – Jasmine Marie Benwell
  6. First Coast High School – Illyana Recinos
  7. Fleming Island High School – Khloe Lloyd
  8. Fletcher High School – Briana Thomas
  9. Mandarin High School – Kadyn Par
  10. Matanzas High School – Austin Weeks
  11. Middleburg High School – Makayla Marie Rathjen
  12. Orange Park High School – Emily Moore
  13. Palatka High School – Amaris Mack
  14. Pedro Menendez High School – Lindsey Shea Pacetti
  15. Ribault High School – Skye Andrews
  16. West Nassau High School – Victoria Nichole McCormack (Brown)
  17. Wolfson High School – Amina Zelihic
  18. Yulee High School – Skylar Powell

Learn more about the VyStar High School Program.

Written by
Lizeth George
View all articles

About Us

The League of Southeastern Credit Unions & Affiliates represents nearly 300 credit unions throughout Alabama, Florida, and Georgia. It has a combined total of almost $200 billion in assets and 12.4 million members. LSCU provides advocacy, compliance services, education and training, cooperative initiatives, and communications.

Social Channels

Follow us on all major social media platforms.