LSCU Presents 2021 State Lawmaker of the Year Award

The League of Southeastern Credit Unions (LSCU) was excited to honor Florida State Representative Clay Yarborough (R-Jacksonville) as our 2021 State Lawmaker of the Year.

Serving as Chair of the Finance and Facilities Subcommittee, Representative Yarborough has been an incredible asset to Florida’s credit unions and their more than 6.3 million members across the state.

“Throughout his tenure in the State House, Representative Yarborough has remained a friend and supporter to credit unions. He has vocalized his support on many credit union issues including public deposits and COVID-19 liability,” stated Patrick La Pine, CEO of LSCU & Affiliates. “Representative Yarborough’s future is exceptionally bright in the Florida Capitol, and we look forward to continuing to work with him on credit union priorities throughout his tenure in public service.”

As Yarborough is currently running unopposed for the seat being vacated by Senator Aaron Bean (R-Fernandina Beach), LSCU looks forward to welcoming another credit union champion into the Florida Senate.

Written by
Lizeth George
View all articles

About Us

The League of Southeastern Credit Unions & Affiliates represents 302 credit unions in Alabama, Florida and Georgia, with a combined total of $175 billion in assets and more than 11.6 million members. LSCU & Affiliates provides legislative and regulatory advocacy; education and training; cooperative initiatives (including financial education outreach); public messaging; information services; and business solutions.

LSCU Mission Statement

To create an environment that enables credit unions to grow and succeed.

LSCU Vision Statement

To be the trusted advocate and preferred source of information for credit unions.

If you need to reach us, e-mail

Social Channels

Follow us on all major social media platforms.